About the Olin College President’s Council

The President's Council is a group of distinguished advisors from diverse backgrounds who have volunteered their time to counsel the president on a full range of issues relating to innovation in education, including curriculum, student life, administration and finance, governance, admission and other topics important to the college. The committee meets twice annually, in the Fall and the Spring.  

President's Council Members

John E. Abele
Elizabeth G. Armstrong
James E. Ashton
William F. Ballhaus
Vince Bertram
Kim Bottomly
Lori Breslow
Al Bunshaft
Brandon Busteed
Joseph J Caruso
Elizabeth Coleman
Carol Dahl
Jeannie H. Diefenderfer
Charles Fadel
Jerry Fiddler
Woodie Flowers
Domenico Grasso
Kerry Healey
Lois Juliber
David Kelley
David S. Lintz
Amory Lovins
Eric Mazur
Jan Morrison
Sherri C. Oberg
Mark Papermaster
Naimish Patel
Elizabeth P. Powell
Gill Pratt
Susan M. Puglia
Melvin R. Ramey
Melanie Roberts
Mark E. Russell
Jamil Salmi
Leonard A. Schlesinger
Tina Seelig
Eileen Shapiro
Ralph S. Sheridan
Ralph Z. Sorenson
Nicole M. Stata
Randy Swearer
Shuzaburo Takeda
Tony Wagner
Jeffrey Wilcox
Ken Zolot


Most Recent Meeting - October 2016

White Paper: The Importance of Mindset

October 21, 2016

What Does Studying College Graduates Tell Us?
[4 min video clip]

What Does Studying College Graduates Tell Us?

October 21,2016

Motivation Theory and Education 
[4:30 min video clip]

Dr. Jon Stolk on Motivation Theory and Education


Upcoming Meetings

In 2017, each meeting begins with a reception and dinner on Thursday evening, followed by a presentation on Friday morning and concluding with lunch. The topic for these meetings are framed in a white paper that is authored by President Miller and distributed in advance of the meeting. Guest speakers are often invited to address the council. In 2018, the format is changing to a one-day event with a reception at the end of the day.

  • May 11-12, 2017
  • October 19-20, 2017
  • May 10, 2018
  • October 18, 2018